If you are facing charges involving violent crimes, then a conviction is always serious. You could face years behind bars and the potential of a life-altering outcome. If you know that you are under investigation, then you need to act now.
Work with a Violent Crimes Attorney in Idaho to Build an Effective Defense Strategy
Call the Sawtooth Defense Lawyers at: (208) 644-8893 to Schedule a Free Free Violent Crime Case Review.
Weapons Crimes Defense
Any item that has the potential to injure or kill another individual is termed a weapon. Because a weapon is a broad term, weapons crimes are commonly be added onto other charges, ranging from simple assault to robbery charges. If you are convicted of a crime involving weapons, then your punishment could be enhanced. This could include steeper fines, longer prison sentences, and other serious consequences. We can help you by providing a strong defense.
Domestic Violence Defense
You could be charged with domestic violence if a household member such as a spouse, ex-spouse, or a domestic partner intentionally causes physical harm or injury. If the injury is traumatic, the offender may be charged with a felony. If you are convicted of domestic violence, your punishments could include counseling, steep fines, and/or jail time. If found guilty of domestic violence more than once in a short period, imprisonment sentences could be up to 15 years, and/or fines up to $15,000. To ensure your rights are protected, enlist the help of an experienced domestic violence lawyer in Idaho.
Assault and Battery Defense
Idaho considers a capacitated attempt to commit injury to another person, or even an intentional spoken threat of violence that is imminent as assault. The penalty for assault is a fine of up to $1000, and/or a jail sentence not to exceed 3 months. Assault charges can be enhanced to aggravated assault with the use of a deadly weapon, or by use of force with the intent to cause great bodily harm or death. The penalty for aggravated assault is increasing to up to 5 years imprisonment and/or fines of up to $5000.
Battery is an unlawful use of force or violence to cause intentional bodily harm, In some cases, battery could involve nonconsensual touching or striking of another person. The penalty for battery is a fine of up to $1000, and/or a jail sentence not to exceed 6 months. If the victim is pregnant, imprisonment could be up to 1 year. Battery charges can be enhanced to aggravated battery if harm results in permanent disability or disfigurement, if there is a use of a deadly weapon, use of poison or corrosive chemicals, or if the victim is pregnant. The penalty for aggravated battery increases the imprisonment term up to 15 years.
All of these charges will stay on your record forever, if you are convicted. Therefore, do not wait around for assault charges. Time is not on your side. We can help you formulate a strong defense.
Violent Crimes Resulting in Death
If you have been charged with a crime that led to the death of someone else, you could be charged with anything from manslaughter, to homicide, or murder. Manslaughter is the unlawful killing of another human being or fetus without malice, often due to recklessness, carelessness, or neglect that results in death. Murder charges may be deemed first degree, or second degree depending on the circumstances. All persons guilty of murder charges in the first degree shall be punished with death or life imprisonment. All persons found guilty of murder in the second degree are subject to no less than 10 years in prison. Our experienced criminal defense attorneys can help you by reviewing the evidence against you and pushing to have your charges reduced or dropped altogether.
Violation of a Protective Order in Idaho
A person may seek a protective order in Idaho if another engages in stalking, threats of intimidation, or harassment against them. The punishment for the violation of a protective order vary in Idaho; however, some violations could lead to criminal charges, fines or up to $5000, and could even put you in jail. You need to have an experienced defense lawyer who will review your protective order, assess the situation, and fight on your behalf.
Stalking in Idaho
If you are charged with stalking, then you need to put up a strong defense. Even if you think you weren’t stalking, this is a broad definition that includes everything from mailing an item to someone, to showing up at the person’s place of work. Stalking may be charged in the first degree or the second degree. A conviction for stalking in Idaho could put you in jail for up to a 5 years, and fines of up to $10,000. Rely on the experience of a defense lawyer for any malicious harassment charge.
Arson in Idaho
In the state of Idaho, arson is a serious charge. A person in Idaho is guilty of arson if they intentionally set a fire or cause an explosion that damages private or public property. Arson can be charged in the first degree if a fire is set in a place persons are normally present; in the second degree or third degree if you willfully burn by fire or explosion forest land/ the property of another; or aggravated arson if the blaze results, directly or indirectly, in great bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement, or the death of another person. If you are guilty of arson, you could be facing punishments of up to 25 years in jail, and fines up to $100,000. If anyone was injured in the fire, you could be facing additional charges as well. You need an experienced arson lawyer to help you.
Hit and Run in Idaho
Every driver has the duty to stop their vehicle at the scene of an accident and to provide information including driver’s license and proof of liability insurance to all involved. Any driver involved in an accident resulting in the injury or death of others, additionally has the duty to also immediately notify the closest police department. Failing to abide by your duty as a driver results in the charge of a hit and run. If you are convicted of a hit and run, you face 1-year suspension of driving privileges fines up to $5000, and imprisonment of up to 5 years. You need a lawyer who knows how to assess the accident, look at the evidence, and formulate a defense. We can help you do that.
Schedule a Free Case Review with the Best Boise Domestic Violence Lawyer in Idaho
If you face domestic violence charges in idaho, a conviction could change your life forever. We are here to listen to your case without judgment or reservation. Then, we can help you formulate a strong defense. Contact us today for a free case evaluation by calling 208-644-8893!