Being charged with a misdemeanor offense may not sound like a big legal problem. But, in some cases, if you are charged with a misdemeanor in Idaho, you can face nearly a year in jail and thousands of dollars in fines. You’ll also have a criminal record that can prohibit you from some types of employment, housing, and cause you other problems for many years to come. So, you will need an experienced criminal misdemeanor defense lawyer.
Contact Sawtooth Defense Lawyers in Boise, Idaho, for guidance as soon as possible after you are arrested. Avoid making a statement to law enforcement until you speak to an attorney.
Click to jump to the section:
- Misdemeanor Charges In Idaho
- What is a Misdemeanor?
- Legal Process for Prosecuting Misdemeanors
- Misdemeanor Classes and Penalties
- Best Misdemeanor Defense Attorney in Idaho
Misdemeanor Charges In Idaho
These are just some of the many common misdemeanor charges people are charged with frequently in Idaho. You can see the difference in misdemeanor vs felony charges by recognizing that the crimes listed below are less serious than felony charges, which include, for example, such extreme offenses as rape, murder, etc.
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
- Reckless Driving
- Inattentive Driving
- Misdemeanor Domestic Battery
- Petty Theft
- Disturbing the Peace
- Possession of a Controlled Substance
- Possession Of Paraphernalia
What is a Misdemeanor?
In Idaho, a misdemeanor is simply a criminal offense that is not as serious as a felony crime and carries less punishment for conviction.
Can you go to jail for a misdemeanor? Yes, even some Class C misdemeanor crimes are serious enough that conviction carries up to 90 days of jail time, and Class A offenses can carry up to a maximum of 364 days.
Legal Process for Prosecuting Misdemeanors
In Idaho, this is the general legal process for prosecuting misdemeanors:
- Charges are filed.
- Law enforcement makes an arrest or issues a citation.
- The accused is taken to jail awaiting a bond hearing or arraignment.
- The arraignment is held, a plea is entered.
- A pretrial conference hearing is held. Lawyers negotiate.
- A bench trial or jury trial is held.
- A resolution is negotiated or the court rules acquittal or conviction.
- A sentencing hearing is held at which the judge determines the sentence.
Misdemeanor Classes and Penalties
Under Idaho Code 18-113, unless a different penalty is specified in the state criminal code for a particular offense, misdemeanor punishment is as follows:
A Class C misdemeanor carries a maximum of 90 days jail time and a maximum fine of $750.
A Class B misdemeanor sentence can include a maximum of 6 months incarceration in a county or a maximum fine of $1,000 or both.
A Class A misdemeanor can bring a maximum of 364 days jail time and a maximum fine of $2,500.
Best Misdemeanor Defense Attorney
The outcome of a misdemeanor case depends on the facts of the events and on the respective abilities of the prosecutor and the defense attorney. Sawtooth Defense Lawyers will provide you with an assessment of your legal case and build the best defense possible for you. We will also stand up for you in court and fight for your freedom, and to prevent a judgment that leaves you with a criminal record.