A hit-and-run accident crime occurs when a driver of a vehicle collides with another vehicle, other property, or a pedestrian and does not stop. Failing to stop and provide information about his or her identity and help people injured in a motor vehicle accident is a serious crime in Idaho. If you are convicted of leaving the scene of an accident in this manner, the consequences can be severe. You may have your driver’s license suspended, have a criminal record, and possibly a jail sentence and large fines.
Before you give a statement to the police after you are charged with a hit-and-run crime, you should contact a top Boise Idaho criminal defense attorney for guidance. Your attorney will make sure that all your legal rights are fully protected and help you identify the best options for your defense.
What is a Hit and Run Crime in Idaho?
Under Idaho hit-and-run laws, if you have been arrested for leaving the scene of an accident, you need to clearly understand the charges against you. A driver commits a felony crime by leaving the scene of an accident, whether it is on public or private property when he/she should know an injury or death is resulting from the incident.
This means the driver has failed to stay at the scene of the accident until the driver met the Idaho legal requirements of a person in that circumstance, which include:
- Provide his/her driver's license, name, address, insurance information, and motor vehicle registration information to the person hit or to the other driver, vehicle occupant, or other person attending to the vehicle with which the collision occurred.
- Help any person injured in a collision by providing a reasonable degree of assistance, including making or communicating arrangements for obtaining appropriate medical help for the individual if such treatment appears needed or is requested by the person injured.
Is Leaving an Accident Scene a Misdemeanor or Felony?
Whether you are facing trial for a misdemeanor or felony hit-and-run offense, it is a serious criminal charge, and being convicted can have a severe impact on your future.
Misdemeanor: Leaving the scene of an auto accident that does not involve an injury but that does result in property damage may be charged as a misdemeanor. The punishment for this offense can include a possible jail sentence. The penalties for this level of hit and run frequently include a $1,000 fine.
Felony: When physical injury, death, extreme property damage, or a DUI is involved, the hit-and-run offense is escalated to a felony. The punishments are more severe, potentially including a lengthy prison sentence and a fine as high as $10,000.
How Sawtooth Defense Lawyers Can Impact Your Case
As you can see above, if you are arrested for a hit-and-run accident, you need an experienced hit-and-run accident attorney who can build the best case for you. Our forensic accident investigators meticulously analyze the evidence and our lawyers work to develop a deeper understanding of your situation and the details of your accident. As an experienced hit and run attorney firm, we know how to factor into the context of your actions and how state law may be applied to ensure you receive the fullest possible benefit of a fair process.