In Idaho, a first offense DUI (Driving Under the Influence) conviction carries serious punishments, including large fines, required counseling, and even jail time. Additionally, your driver's license will be suspended for quite a long time in some cases.
If you are arrested and charged with this crime, you will need an experienced Idaho DUI lawyer to help you make the best possible case for your defense.
Click to jump to the section:
- First Offense DUI Penalties in Utah
- How Likely Is Jail Time for First DUI Convictions?
- You Need a Boise DUI Lawyer Who Can Win Your Case
First Offense DUI Penalties in Utah
A DUI conviction in Idaho carries a range of severe potential sentences, even for a DUI 1st offense. These are the possible punishments you may receive for a first-time DUI offense in this state:
For a misdemeanor level conviction for DUI, the defendant may be charged a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, he or she may be required to pay high fees to attend alcohol education sessions, and fees for reinstating the driver’s license, plus other possible fees.
|Alcohol Use Evaluation||
With a first-time DUI conviction, you will probably be required to undergo an alcohol evaluation and attend counseling or an alcohol rehab program, based on the evaluator’s recommendations.
You can expect your driver’s license to be suspended for between 30 to 180 days. After 30 days, you may be allowed to apply for a license that is restricted to limited use to go from home to work, to doctor appointments, etc.
A first offense DUI conviction can result in a sentence of 0 to 6 months jail time, and virtually all guilty verdicts can be expected to result in incarceration. The length of a jail sentence is largely determined by the level of the crime.
|Ignition Interlock Device Penalty:||
Every 1st DUI offense comes with the mandatory requirement to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle for one year. The device measures Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) and prevents the car from starting if the read-out is too high.
You will be required to attend a Victims Panel session if you are convicted. It is a class in which people whose lives have been impacted by people guilty of DUI have an opportunity to talk about their experience due to being victimized by someone committing the crime of DUI.
How Likely Is Jail Time for First DUI Convictions?
Fortunately, the majority of people who receive first offense DUI convictions can serve their jail time in the form of community service instead of being locked up in jail.
To read the full details of the now tougher penalties for first-time DUI offenders, see Idaho Code 18-8004-05.
You Need a Boise DUI Lawyer Who Can Win Your Case
Sawtooth Defense Lawyers help defendants in Idaho who are facing DUI charges, including many people in Boise and the greater Ada County area. That means we are especially familiar with the criminal court system here in the metro Boise area and each local county — all of which present their unique challenges for defendants.
Whether you are facing a conviction for a first-offense or harsh felony DUI Idaho justice, you’ll need a lawyer who is well experienced operating within these courts. Ultimately, the outcome of your case will largely depend on the specific details of the events that led to the charges against you and your Idaho DUI lawyer’s ability to build and present the best possible case for your defense.
Why Choose Sawtooth Defense Lawyers?
We work one-on-one with each client to build the most effective case. We can sometimes have charges dropped completely or significantly reduced. We will provide you with a free consultation, answer all your questions, and provide you with an assessment of your legal case.